Training 8.6.11-8.12.11

I felt really good about this week’s training.  I was a little worried after starting it off with the Bridgeland Tri, since I really wasn’t feeling well, but I kept the training going all week!  My chest still felt a little congested after my 10 miler on Thursday, but by that afternoon I felt fine and have ever since.  Now just crossing my fingers it doesn’t come back for a third round!

Saturday: Rest

Sunday: Bridgeland Tri
Swim 500m
Ride 13.5 miles
Run 3.65 miles

Monday:  30 min run @ 9:53

Tuesday: 2000 m at 39:53

Wednesday: 20 min @ 10:54

Thursday morning: 10 miles @ 11:29
Thursday afternoon: 4 miles @ 10:07

Friday morning: 1450 m @ 28:19
Friday afternoon: 10 mile ride @ 16.1 mph

Totals:
Swim:  3950 m
Bike: 23.5 miles
Run: 22.47 miles

I also realized this week that the pool at the Fairfield Athletic club is actually a meter pool, and not a yard pool.  Good information to have!  In an attempt to add more running mileage to my training, I’ve decided I want to add a midweek long run in.  Something similar to the way the Hal Higdon plans work.  I’ve been doing well with sticking with the Cypress Fit schedule, but I don’t think my mileage will ever get quite high enough to be as ready as I want to be for my upcoming marathons.  The 10 miles before work really wasn’t all that bad.  As long as I got to bed early, I should be able to make a long run happen at least one day before work each week.  It’s just the getting up that’s the problem!  I want to rock these marathons, rather than just scraping by and getting to the finish line like I did for Houston 2011.  I honestly feel like I’m more ready for a marathon right now than I was back in January, and I’m nowhere near ready right now.  90 days to go!

And I’ll leave you with a silly photo of my cat, Sawyer.  I think something might be wrong with him….

Silly Sawyer.... yes... that's his head. On the table. :/

4 Comments

    1. I like that idea, but that would imply that he’s intelligent… after 2 years I just don’t think that’s possible! Cute, but seriously dumb 🙂

      Reply

  1. See this is exactly why you are so awesome! I can’t fathom hitting up 10 miles before work…even when I was in better shape…but maybe that’s just because I have always been slower than molasses and 10 miles before work would mean I would have to wake up at 3am – haha!

    Great week on the workout schedule! I think you will be golden for these marathons!

    Reply

Leave a comment